21.04.2019 20:17 h

PAOK Thessaloniki win first Greek league title in three decades

PAOK Thessaloniki clinched the Greek Super League title for the first time in 34 years on Sunday after defeating Levadiakos at a packed Tomba Stadium 5-0.

PAOK are one game away from finishing the season unbeaten after winning the third title in their history, accumulating 77 points from 29 matches thanks to 25 victories and four draws,

Razvan Lucescu's side are five points ahead of second-placed Olympiakos, who have dominated Greek football and won 44 titles.

Ukraine midfielder Yevhen Shakhov opened the scoring in the third minute and Diego Biseswar made it two five minutes later.

Fernando Varela added another seven minutes after the break and Shakhov sealed the three points and the title with his second on the hour mark, before Poland's Karol Swiderski completed the round with nine minutes left.

PAOK, who have been owned by Greek-Russian businessman Ivan Savvidis since 2015, had won their previous two titles in 1976 and 1985 and are still in the running for the Greek Cup along with AEK Athens, Lamia and Asteras Tripolis.

They have won the cup six times since their foundation in 1926 and are the competition's current holders.