19.02.2014 14:04 h

Football: Fletcher gets Scotland recall for Poland friendly

Scotland captain Darren Fletcher was given an international recall on Wednesday after being named in the squad for next month's friendly international against Poland.

The Manchester United midfielder recently returned to action with the English Premier League champions following a lengthy lay-off with ulcerative colitis.

His former Old Trafford team-mate Phil Bardsley, now with Sunderland, has also been recalled by Scotland manager Gordon Strachan, while Dundee United left-back Andrew Robertson has been selected for a senior national squad for the first time.

Strachan, himself a former United and Scotland midfielder, was delighted to have Fletcher available for the match in Warsaw on March 5 after being without him for his first year in charge of the national side.

"It was wonderful over the Christmas period to see him back playing football," Strachan said. "We have got to take it a stage further.

"I've seen him playing and he has lost none of his enthusiasm, which he will never lose.

"To have him back in the squad is terrific."

Both Scotland and Poland countries have failed to qualify for this year's World Cup finals in Brazil, which start in June.

Scotland will be looking to build on their recent 1-0 friendly win against Norway.

The draw for Euro 2016 is due to take place on Sunday, with Scotland looking to qualify for a major finals for the first time since the 1998 World Cup in France.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Matt Gilks (Blackpool/ENG), David Marshall (Cardiff/WAL), Allan McGregor (Hull City/ENG)

Defenders: Phil Bardsley (Sunderland/ENG), Christophe Berra (Ipswich Town/ENG), Gordon Greer (Brighton and Hove Albion/ENG), Grant Hanley (Blackburn Rovers/ENG), Alan Hutton (Aston Villa/ENG), Russell Martin (Norwich City/ENG), Andrew Robertson (Dundee United), Steven Whittaker (Norwich City/ENG)

Midfielders: Charlie Adam (Stoke City/ENG), Ikechi Anya (Watford/ENG), Barry Bannan (Crystal Palace/ENG), Scott Brown (Celtic), Chris Burke (Birmingham City/ENG), Darren Fletcher (Manchester United/ENG), James Forrest (Celtic), James Morrison (West Bromwich Albion/ENG), Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic), Robert Snodgrass (Norwich City/ENG)

Forwards: Steven Fletcher (Sunderland/ENG), Ross McCormack (Leeds United/ENG), Steven Naismith (Everton/ENG)